Not always. While the legal definition of dark chocolate requires a higher percentage of cocoa solids and does not mandate the inclusion of dairy, many manufacturers incorporate anhydrous milk fat (AMF) or butter oil into their formulations. Checking the ingredient list or vegan certification is the safest way to be sure.